Skip to content
July 30, 2006 / Abhijit Shylanath

The Pleasures of the Pipe Smoke

Briar Pipe
I’ve stopped smoking cigarettes. Some days back, I had a throat problem that made me unable to smoke. Cigarettes then started to taste vile and sickly. Not that they were awesomely tasty before that, but they had their pluses.

After I recovered, I couldn’t smoke cigarettes too much. For one, they didn’t taste too good anymore. I switched to cheap King Edward cigars for a bit, but you can’t really smoke cigars on a regular basis.

At times like these, a young man’s fancy strays to… PIPES! So I read up a bit and bought myself an inexpensive Sanda pipe, and a packet of Drum Halfzware (half-dark) tobacco.

For those of us who are used to smoking shitty processed tobacco in cigarettes, smoking pure tobacco is like eating at Pizza Hut for the first time after having eaten Amul Pizza for four years. You can taste it! That’s right! And it tastes good. Really. Mouth-watering good.

If I could compare it to anything, I’d say it tastes like coffee smells, but with a slight nutty dance happening in the back room. Slightly sweet, and subtle tones that I can’t really describe, but are remarkably pleasant. And a wonderful tingly sensation when you’re into it.
Also, on the health side, you don’t inhale, so it’s safer. All the work that goes into preparing a pipe ensures that you don’t smoke too often.

Good old social conditioning has made it so that just holding a pipe in my hand makes me feel relaxed. Loving it. Now, I need to look up good pipe makers in India. Yes, I have a habit of high hopes.

Pros: All of the above
Cons: Smoking a pipe makes me look like a wannabe Sherlock Holmes, but meh, to hell with it.

Update: Two days after writing this, I chain smoked for two days. Will try to stop. I know you’re hanging on to my every word now, whoever you are. My life is just so interesting, you see. What makes me different from the millions of other blogs out there? Nothing! Go on now, get out.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Fly / Aug 4 2006 9:53 am

    Rascal!

  2. Ricky Kej / Aug 5 2006 8:48 pm

    Dude !!!!

  3. sanjana raghunath / Aug 6 2006 12:04 am

    I knew it could’ve only been bad news. I hate pipes.

  4. Sam / Aug 24 2006 10:28 am

    Hi guy, just happened to be here searching for the infamous sanda pipes. I’m sort of seasoned pipe smoker, and willing to give you a couple of hints to really start enjoying your brand new vice!
    1) Sanda pipes are probably the worst pipes worldwide. Go and buy a briar pipe. If you can find it, grab an italian or english one. Write me if you like, I’ll be glad to suggest you some decent brand (also available on ebay, no need to rummage your neighborhood!)
    2) DRUM tobacco is for self-made cigarettes, not for pipe. Take a look to http://www.tobaccoreviews.com/ and choose your own.

    Therefore… if you liked Drum in a Sanda pipe, I guess you’ll go mad tasting Balkan Sobranie in a Dunhill pipe! O_o

  5. Jamul / Oct 16 2006 6:48 pm

    briar definitely!
    great tip sam!
    true that!

  6. Venky / Nov 15 2006 2:18 pm

    Hey there!

    I picked up a Sanda pipe just yesterday. Well … i didnt know they were widely “infamous”. Of course they are cheap i realise that. I intend to use them as a beginner weapon of sorts.

    If you’ve been using them for a while – hows it working for you ?? Hopefully you wont keel over and die just coz u use Sanda pipes right ??

    [Homer]Damn chinese!!….
    mmmm… Sanda [/Homer]

  7. john / Nov 29 2006 5:19 am

    we all start somewhere… i started on a sanda smoking prince albert and the went to a dr. grabow briar with borkum riff… several pipes later my favorite smoke is my sms meerschaum with balkan sobranie… beautiful smoke, but i still go back to my sanda

  8. Sergey / Nov 12 2007 11:33 am

    Please help – where can I buy a good brier pipe in New Delhi? I went through some shops but they sell only low quality Indian pipes…

    • Protik / Oct 3 2010 8:02 am

      Dear Sergey,
      I am also searching continuously for a good quality imported brier pipe, but it seems a very tough job indeed. I request you to let me know the pipe source in new delhi, if you get any information. meanwhile vice-verse for myself also. i shall be grateful if you do me that favour.

      my email i.d is protikganguli@gmail.com

      please excuse me for bad English

  9. johnhauge / Aug 12 2008 7:12 pm

    thanks for dropping by. just quit. it’s not that hard if you really want to.

  10. Protik / Oct 3 2010 8:04 am

    is not there any shop/ supplier in delhi?

  11. Protik / Oct 5 2010 4:53 pm

    u can get briar pipe in jain pan house at janpath road connaught place, though they are over charged… please help me if i get genuine briar pipe at proper price. pls pls..

  12. Dave Hankins / Jul 7 2011 11:27 pm

    Can I remove the small metal bowl and use the much larger bowl safely? I have a Sanda SD-117…

Leave a Reply

